The Seychelles Polytechnic is operational from 8.00 am to 4.00 p.m. over a ten-month calendar year extending from mid-February to mid-December with two semesters of 20 weeks, a mid-semester break of one week in each semester, and a three week break in July.

Welcome to Seychelles Polytechnic

Students home 2007

The Seychelles Polytechnic opened its doors to students in January 1983. With a mandate to offer post secondary education and training, it incorporated, in its expansive phase, 11 schools offering courses such as Health Studies, Media Studies, Business Studies, Maritime Studies, Teacher Training, Art and Design, Construction, Engineering, Agriculture, Adult Education and Advanced Levels.

During the latter part of the 90’s, it was felt that most of the vocational schools would fare better if integrated with the Ministry most concerned to employ their graduates. So, for example, the school of Health Studies left the Polytechnic and went under the umbrella of the Ministry of Health. This process went on until 1998, leaving the Polytechnic with five schools.

In 2000, there was the restructuring of the Seychelles Polytechnic, whereby the schools were renamed Programme Areas. Hence the school of Construction was merged with the school of Engineering to become the Technical Studies Programme Area. Foundation Studies (O’ Level) was merged with Humanities and Science (A’ Levels), becoming the Academic Studies Programme Area. With the other, also newly renamed, Business & Secretarial Studies Programme Area, the new Polytechnic was therefore made up of three programme areas. In January 2001, there was the addition of the Manchester Twinning Programme.

Further changes were to take place in 2005/6; the Technical Programme Area became the newly formed Seychelles Institute of Technology (SIT) and moved to Providence. The Academic Programme Area was also detached from the Seychelles Polytechnic to became the School of Advanced Level Studies (SALS).

Today the Seychelles Polytechnic comprises of three main programme areas; Business & Secretarial Studies Programme Area, Visual Arts Programme Area (formerly known as College of the Arts) and the Manchester Twinning Programme (a first year degree programme in partnership with the University of Manchester in UK).